Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 12th, 2008

Sidewalk heart

Even the streets in Chicago seem to be sharing the love.

When we first talked about moving to Chicago, one of my biggest reservations was that I would be lonely here in the States. I have never been very good at making friends and we were both concerned about arriving in a new country where we knew no-one.

So, I came to Chicago determined to make friends. I had a plan. I would cook for these North American folk I was going to meet. I would be the friendliest person you have ever met. There would be much niceness, some baking, and a lot of bravery on my part. No invitation would be turned down. It was agreed that even if we didn’t much care for the idea of a gathering, our new best friends might also be there, and we would not miss out on meeting them. We were going to make friends, and we were going to make it our first and most important job.

I cannot begin to tell you how blessed we have been by the friendships we have found in the US. The Midwest has welcomed us, and I don’t even mind if they want to mock my accent every now and then. I’m not at all suggesting that I don’t have wonderful friends from the UK, who I miss more than any of them could realize, but I wasn’t expecting Chicago to be full of people ready to make friends with us. I didn’t realize that amongst the people we’ve met in the last few years, are the friends I’m going to miss more than I can imagine when we eventually go home.

Happy Love Thursday, a group feature hosted by ShutterSisters.

Read Full Post »